format & how players qualify

2013 ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf

Beginning in 2013, the competition becomes primarily an individual event with a team component. The 60-player field will be selected based on the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) with up to two players per country allowed to qualify (four per country if they are with in the top 15 of the OWGR). The format will return to 72 holes of stroke play, with the individuals competing for $7 million of the $8 million total purse. OWGR points will be awarded for the first time. The top two-ranked players from each country will compete for the team portion, using combined stroke play scores. The individual portion is similar to what will be used at the 2016 Summer Olympics, except that England, Scotland, and Wales will have teams instead of a single Great Britain team in the Olympics.

Eligible players in the 60-player field are:

• Players within the top 15 on the Official World Golf Ranking on Monday, September 23, 2013, gain access to the event, except that there will be no more than four players for any country.

• Beyond the top 15, up to two players per country (for those countries not already having 2 or more players as a result of the top 15 category) gain access to the event until the field of 60 players is filled.

• Host country (Australia) is assured of at least two player.

NOTE: In addition to the individual stroke play competition, a team competition will occur. The highest two ranked players on the OWGR from a given country will automatically compete concurrently in the team competition (via aggregate score), with any additional players from that country who are ranked lower only eligible for the individual competition. Players from countries with only one player will play only in the individual competition.

Historical information

From 1955 to 1999, there was also a separate award, the International Trophy, for the individual with the best 72-hole score.

In 1953, the format was 36 holes of stroke play with the combined score of the two-man team determining the winner. From 1954 to 1999, the format was 72 holes of stroke play. Beginning in 2000, the format became alternating stroke play rounds of fourball and foursomes.